DIARY OF AN URBAN MILKMAID


PROFILE GUESTBOOK OLD OLDER OLDEST
The farming venture is well underway. Yesterday, I visited the Parks & Recreation lady, paid the money, and got my key to the garden gate. Last night, we went to the gardens and picked out our plot. We chose a lovely center plot, close to the hose.

Then, we hot-footed it over to our local OSH store to purchase our farming equipment - shovel, spade, cultivator, some long-handled thing that looks like a gigantic fork, a cool looking weeder, gardening gloves, seeds, a mini-greenhouse to start the seeds growning, and seed starting mix. ($88.88 - some things AREN'T priceless).

I decided against building my own composting box for now. I don't have much time between the hot-hot weather and the cold-cold weather that is coming up, to get my first crop in and harvested, and make compost right now. So, I am going to buy pre-made, organic compost. It's $5 a bag. Much cheaper and easier than wood, nails, collecting garbage, etc. Maybe for the next crop.

We started our first batch of seeds in the mini-greenhouse. We've got two kinds of chili peppers, lemon balm, brocolli and cauliflower started. My first crops will have to be warm weather loving veggies, so I chose onion, garlic, spinach, the peppers, the lemon balm, some nastursiums (to cut down on bugs)and lavender for a kind of border.

Tonight, we take our tools over to our "land" so we can begin to turn the soil and get rid of the weeds.

I guess this means I'm a sharecropper...

SLAY ON BUFFY!!



August 15, 2001

Buh Bye!
October 05, 2008

Be Afraid, People.... Really Afraid
September 01, 2008

One Last Bitchfest for the Road
August 24, 2008

Get the Popcorn Ready
July 17, 2008

I'm a Rich Ho-Bag
June 20, 2008



previous next
Marriage is love.

hosted by DiaryLand.com