DIARY OF AN URBAN MILKMAID


PROFILE GUESTBOOK OLD OLDER OLDEST
I bought an American flag.

This was so unlike me, I was actually embarrassed to be seen buying it.

Due to my extremely complicated political, philosophical and theological ideologies, I have never pledged allegiance to the flag, I haven't wanted to promise loyalty to a government I have been so angry with for so many years (child of the '60's, Vietnam, numerous crimes against developing nations, rigged elections - don't get me started...).

However, since the horrors of yesterday, each time I see the flag flying on somebody's porch, in front of the grocery store, lining the main street of my town - I am no longer reminded of my anger toward my government. I am reminded of the pain that the people that flag represents are feeling right now. I am also reminded that we are all in pain as one people, and we can remain as one people, and heal as one people - and be better, as one people.

Tomorrow morning, I will hang my little flag off my balcony. It's not about anger now. It's about healing.

September 12, 2001

Buh Bye!
October 05, 2008

Be Afraid, People.... Really Afraid
September 01, 2008

One Last Bitchfest for the Road
August 24, 2008

Get the Popcorn Ready
July 17, 2008

I'm a Rich Ho-Bag
June 20, 2008



previous next
Marriage is love.

hosted by DiaryLand.com