DIARY OF AN URBAN MILKMAID


PROFILE GUESTBOOK OLD OLDER OLDEST
Suckered in again. Sophies Choice. I've seen it tens of times, but never in the morning. Always late at night, so it was easier to sleep of the resultant depression. It has to be one of the saddest movies ever made. I read the book back in the, gosh, late '70's? early '80's? Before the movie. I had to turn the pages back, to be sure of what I had read about her daughter. I couldn't believe what I had read...

So, now my day is a different color than it would have been had I listened to the logical part of my brain and remembered that weekends are for fun and frivolity.

A couple of years ago, I was sitting, eating lunch in the UCLA Medical Center cafeteria. The kidlet and I (mostly her) take part in a research program UCLA is heading, which attempts to determine genetic/environmental factors that affect children of alcoholics as to whether or not they follow in their parent's alcoholic footsteps. It's interesting, and it helps me to feel like I'm giving back - and the kidlet earns $50 each time she goes, so she likes it.

Anyway, I digress. I was sitting there, feeding my face, people watching - when my eyes caught sight of something that I will never forget. An old man in a wheelchair - he was very old, and looked to have some sort of senile dementia - was sitting alone at a table. His attendant had no doubt gone in to get lunch for the both of them. The old man's forearm was tattooed with black numbers... Of course, I had seen this before, in movies or documentaries, but until I saw it in front of me - How could any human being, brand a fellow human being, like an animal?

I will never, ever forget that old man.

I suppose from the beginning of time, there has been a certain segment of the population who are either certifiably insane, or just plain evil. It doesn't seem to be any different now, than it was during the Crusades, or the Salem Witch Trials, or the Holocaust, or the Turks vs. the Armenians, or Rwanda - the madness just goes on, and on, and fucking on.

All I can do, is focus on what is in front of me - raise my daughter to be as loving of others as possible - be a helpful human being - and try and stay safe. The rest is up the The Powers That Be.

SLAY ON BUFFY!!



September 29, 2001

Buh Bye!
October 05, 2008

Be Afraid, People.... Really Afraid
September 01, 2008

One Last Bitchfest for the Road
August 24, 2008

Get the Popcorn Ready
July 17, 2008

I'm a Rich Ho-Bag
June 20, 2008



previous next
Marriage is love.

hosted by DiaryLand.com