DIARY OF AN URBAN MILKMAID


PROFILE GUESTBOOK OLD OLDER OLDEST
Okay. I started feeling a little weird about my decision to spend Thanksgiving by myself - oh, about the third time somebody gave me a pity look and offered me a place at their table.

I started doubting that I had really looked forward to spending time alone, wearing comfy sweats, baking a pumpkin pie, roasting a turkey and stuffing - appreciating the quiet of my own apartment while watching 14 hours of Buffy the Vampire Slayer...

Then my brother called and I snapped out of my self doubt immediately. "You know what the problem is, don't you? It's YOUR MOTHER that's what it is!" My brother had asked my mother (and me, but I begged off) to join him at his girlfriend's house for dinner. Dinner was going to be at 4 p.m. He thought it might be nice to arrive at 2 p.m., in time for conversation and appetizers. Our mother thought it would be better to arrive nearer to 4 p.m... The power struggle began. So typical of our family. Mother must be in charge. Kids are not kids any more and feel entitled to make their own decisions. Mother throws huge guilt producing fit. Mother gets to replay her marriage dynamic with her son. Son becomes frustrated and very, very angry with mother. Mother becomes martyr-like. Ahhh. I can't wait for Christmas!

My day was relaxing. Apartment was full of good smells, Buffy marathon going in the background. Food preparation was fun (I just love to cook) - until I threw my back out, lifting a pan of stuffing.... I am so old and rickety - all it took was a bend and a turn in just the wrong direction and WHAM! the back went "pop". No more Thanksgiving fun for Milkmaid...

After the kidlet came home, I realized we needed to return some videos we had rented, or I'd be charged late fees. I hobbled down the stairs, wept as I sat down in the Geo, and made entertaining yelping sounds each time I engaged the clutch. The only thing that made my back pain tolerable was falling asleep watching James Marsters' beautiful face on the television.

Today the back is much better, which is a blessing as kidlet and I have so many projects out in the big world. It is the most fantastic day outside too. There is not a cloud in the sky, the air is crisp with a slight breeze. I haven't checked, but it feels like it's about 65 degrees - Mmmmm holiday weather.

Oh, yeah. I found out what the "honking" bird is. It's a bloody seagull!. It roosts (or something) on our roof, and honks during the wee hours of the morning. This thing has got to be retarded, because we live about 4 miles from the ocean...

We're off to the mall!

SLAY ON BUFFY
I'm pretty much Buffy'd out after 14 hours.....



November 23, 2001

Buh Bye!
October 05, 2008

Be Afraid, People.... Really Afraid
September 01, 2008

One Last Bitchfest for the Road
August 24, 2008

Get the Popcorn Ready
July 17, 2008

I'm a Rich Ho-Bag
June 20, 2008



previous next
Marriage is love.

hosted by DiaryLand.com