DIARY OF AN URBAN MILKMAID


PROFILE GUESTBOOK OLD OLDER OLDEST
(Looking Back on 2003)

1. What did you do in 2003 that you'd never done before?

Sought the services of an attorney. Won too!

2. Did you keep your new years' resolutions, and will you make more for next year?

I normally make a few resolutions, and I strive to keep them. Last New Year, I was in the midst of so much insanity in my home, I didn't make any resolutions. I was just trying to hold on.

This year, I've resolved:

To take part in the Discovery Channel Body Challenge

To be more fiscally responsible

To decide if my life-long dream of becoming an actual Milkmaid is do-able

If it is - I resolve to start making actual plans

3. Did anyone close to you give birth?

Nope. My friends are all too old to reproduce.

4. Did anyone close to you die?

Yes. My friend from work - Lydia, died this year. She was only 38 years old. Brittle diabetic. Apparently, she went to sleep and had a stroke from hypertension. She never did wake up. I swear, sometimes I still turn a corner at the office and expect to run into her.

5. What countries did you visit?

Are you kidding? I barely went out of town!

6. What would you like to have in 2004 that you lacked in 2003?

Money. I would like some freakin' CASH! That, and a little bit of serenity here at home.

7. What date from 2003 will remain etched upon your memory, and why?

November 26th. That's the day the doctor called to say the kid's MRI was good.

8. What was your biggest achievement of the year?

Withdrawing my child from the nightmare that is public high school.

9. What was your biggest failure?

Throwing a hissy fit on the QAF Message Board - and now I can't go back

10. Did you suffer illness or injury?

Fiji Flu! I LIVED! Woot!

11. What was the best thing you bought?

Well, we didn't exactly "buy" him - but we did "adopt" Reggie for about $100. He's the best.

12. Whose behaviour merited celebration?

Hans Blix. God Bless him.

13. Whose behavior made you appalled and depressed?

George W. Bush (pathetic loser). On a daily basis, he makes me ashamed to call myself an American.

14. Where did most of your money go?

Emotional shopping. To distract the kid from her OCD symptoms - and to calm the hysteria and terror in my own head. Damn! We shopped our asses off this past year.

15. What did you get really, really, really excited about?

Arts and crafts. (See, THIS is what happens to people who don't get laid in a timely manner...)

16. What song will always remind you of 2003?

"No Shoes, No Shirt, No Problems" -Kenny Chesney

17. Compared to this time last year, are you: Happier or sadder?

Much happier! It feels like there is a promise for a bright future, and I'm looking forward to it.

ii. thinner or fatter?

Thinner

iii. richer or poorer?

Poorer

18. What do you wish you'd done more of?

Photography. I don't believe I took the camera out more than once or twice all year.

19. What do you wish you'd done less of?

Worrying

20. How will you be spending Christmas?

NEXT Christmas? Please, I'm still trying to detox from the Christmas we just had!

21. Did you fall in love in 2003?

Nope. No relationships until 2005...

22. How many one-night stands?

None. Hey! I coulda DONE that!

23. What was your favorite TV program?

"The Wire". Best goddamned show on TV. Period.

24. Do you hate anyone now that you didn't hate this time last year?

I only hate the same "Axis of Dumbassery" Dubya, Dick and Donald

25. What was the best book you read?

"Lies and the Lying Liars Who Tell Them" I love Al Franken.

26. What was your greatest musical discovery?

Oh, God...this is so embarrassing... I discovered Country music. It's GOOD, people. No - stop laughing!

27. What did you want and get?

I wanted Reggie. I got Reggie. Reggie Rocks!

28. What was your favorite film of this year?

Gosh, I only saw two movies. I think "Pirates of the Caribbean" was fun, but I doubt it would have been my "favorite" if I had seen more.

29. What did you do on your birthday, and how old were you?

I spent the day in quiet reflection - seeing as I was turning freakin' 49 - I didn't think it would be safe to get myself too worked up. I might have broken a hip...

30. What's one thing that would have made your year immeasurably more satisfying?

Truckloads of cash. Aircraft carriers full of cash! Cash is SO satisfying.

31. How would you describe your personal fashion concept in 2003?

Business-casual - Goth.

32. What kept you sane?

And we have what proof that I'm sane?

33. Which celebrity/public figure did you fancy the most?

Other than the luscious, hotness that is Gale Harold (which I enjoy every year) - I think I appreciated Johnny Depp quite a bit. Especially in the eyeliner...

34. What political issue stirred you the most?

The obscenity that is the Bush Administration.

38. Who did you miss?

Nobody. Except for Lydia - they're all still around.

39. Who was the best new person you met?

I didn't meet any new people this year. Although, I'm looking forward to meeting Thomas Osborne soon after the beginning of 2004.

40. Tell us a valuable life lesson you learned in 2003:

The only thing I have to fear - is fear itself.

41. Quote a song lyric that sums up your year:

"Am I a part of the cure - or am I part of the disease?" - Clocks - Coldplay

****************************************

May your 2004 be filled with joy and promise.

(and don't drink and drive. Remember - New Year's Eve is "Amateur Night")



December 31, 2003

Buh Bye!
October 05, 2008

Be Afraid, People.... Really Afraid
September 01, 2008

One Last Bitchfest for the Road
August 24, 2008

Get the Popcorn Ready
July 17, 2008

I'm a Rich Ho-Bag
June 20, 2008



previous next
Marriage is love.

hosted by DiaryLand.com