DIARY OF AN URBAN MILKMAID


PROFILE GUESTBOOK OLD OLDER OLDEST
Where do I begin?

On July 25th, while walking my doggie in the park, I fell and fractured my right ankle in seven places. SEVEN!

Had surgery. Pins and plates, the whole nine yards. Had to hop up two flights of stairs one day post-op to get into my apartment... (I can do that now, no sweat).

Have been reliant upon the kindness of strangers and friends - and the kid, who pretty much runs the house now.

It's been a trip, believe me.

I have to learn to walk again as well as move my "muscles" - which in the case of my right calf are just a memory now. All atrophied. I'm sure my ass is a mess too. I am going to practice driving today. Wish me luck.

Things I've learned while recuperating:
1. Taking a bath while sitting on the crapper is not glamorous - but can be an effective de-stank maneuver.
2. Parts of your body can really smell bad if they don't get aired out regularly - even with the aforementioned crapper-bath.
3. Grocery chains deliver!!!!!
4. People you never even considered friends before - will come to your home and bring you lunch and dinner, offer rides to work, cards and flowers to cheer you. Who knew???
5. People you considered good friends before - don't even bother to send you an email... Go figure.
6. You can decide a lot about yourself, your relationship to the world and what you want to do when you grow up (even at 52)while lying on the sofa for a few weeks.

Next week - physical therapy! GAAAAAAAAH!!!

September 16, 2007

Buh Bye!
October 05, 2008

Be Afraid, People.... Really Afraid
September 01, 2008

One Last Bitchfest for the Road
August 24, 2008

Get the Popcorn Ready
July 17, 2008

I'm a Rich Ho-Bag
June 20, 2008



previous next
Marriage is love.

hosted by DiaryLand.com