DIARY OF AN URBAN MILKMAID


PROFILE GUESTBOOK OLD OLDER OLDEST
I got a Jackson Browne CD today. I also have in in an LP, but have no stereo, but when I was packing my mom, I found the LP and really wanted to get the CD - for memories sake.

And what memories it brings! I was living with my first roommate back in 1974, I think. Believe me, you never think of the present moment as the *good old days* until about 20 years hence. She and I played, and played. This was before sex could kill you even...

When I hear this album, I can remember so many things. I swear it was always summertime back then. I was 20 years old, and the entire world was my playground - and everyone was safe and friendly - We were college kids living on our own for the first time - holding down part time jobs at Sears and pizza parlors - just learning how to smoke cigarettes and mix fancy drinks in the blender - Tequila Sunrise - Margueritas - soon enough to become my own downfall...

Oh, and the boys! There is nothing so beautiful in this world as ayoung man in his early to mid twenties - absolutely NOTHING compares. Their skin is soft and wrinkle-free, their muscles are all at their best - and their energy level and enthusiasm will never again be equalled...

I saw Jackson Browne once in person. I was at the Tiffany's jewelry store on Rodeo Drive - around 1978. My friend was in the front part of the store and I was in the back room where they have the vases and knick-nacks (expensive, of course). Well, there was a young man sitting on a settee (ha!) wearing levi's and hiking boot-type shoes. I had plenty of Beverly Hills attitude that day, so when he looked at me, I gave him my most uppity look. A few minutes later, some people he knew arrived and I heard one of them say his name was *Jackson* so I looked again.... The same face that stared back at me from my favorite album - the one I'm listening to now - was on that same guy I had just snubbed..... If it wasn't for bad luck, I wouldn't have no luck at all!!!

SLAY ON BUFFY!

April 8, 2001

Buh Bye!
October 05, 2008

Be Afraid, People.... Really Afraid
September 01, 2008

One Last Bitchfest for the Road
August 24, 2008

Get the Popcorn Ready
July 17, 2008

I'm a Rich Ho-Bag
June 20, 2008



previous next
Marriage is love.

hosted by DiaryLand.com