DIARY OF AN URBAN MILKMAID


PROFILE GUESTBOOK OLD OLDER OLDEST
Today, I did some banking.

My boss, who has more money than God, advised me to put everything but $1000 into a 6-month CD. Yeah, easy for him to say! He doesn't have to budget for video rentals and happening new clothes for a teenager. I did some quick calculations - with my calculator - and found that if I put half in a 6-month CD, I would be making squat in interest, (1.40%) even if I rolled it over four times. No, not good enough to be worthy of the emotional stress froom being unable to touch the cash if I needed to. I have been so poverty stricken during my divorced mom phase. It's traumatized me, really. I may never get over it.

I headed for the bank, and sat at the desk with one of those banking people. I told my banking person that I had $10,500 to deposit, and I wanted to get my savings account bumped up to the next interest rate level. She told me I could get this really cool "Almost CD" account that pays 2% interest. Problem is, I would have to maintain a balance of at least $10,000. If the balance dipped, I'd have to call the bank, and get another kind of savings account. Too much hassle for a lousy 2%. Besides, I could probably whore myself out for the kind of dough that account would earn me. Even at my age. Well, you know,if the Johns were senile and blind...

I finally ended up with a Market Rate savings account which currently pays only 1%, but the rates change each month. My banking person said that rates certainly wouldn't get any lower than they are now. At any rate (banking humor?), it'll do for now. I'll keep my eyes open and my ear to the ground for a way to make more cash from this cash.

The kidlet and I have a goal. Our goal is to spend as little of the cash as possible. At the end of the three years, we'll go to England on whatever is left. Sort of a graduation present.

***********************************

I can't update my diary first thing in the morning tomorrow. The kidlet has to go to school and take a makeup vocab test at 7:30. Therefore, I have to get up before the crack of dawn to get her there. What'll I do between the hours of 7:30 and 8:30 when work starts? I suppose I can do some work, then, after I punch in, I can dick around and not feel guilty. Yeah, that's the ticket!

"Life Not Worth Living If You Not Take Risk" Brian, QAF

May 28, 2002

Buh Bye!
October 05, 2008

Be Afraid, People.... Really Afraid
September 01, 2008

One Last Bitchfest for the Road
August 24, 2008

Get the Popcorn Ready
July 17, 2008

I'm a Rich Ho-Bag
June 20, 2008



previous next
Marriage is love.

hosted by DiaryLand.com