DIARY OF AN URBAN MILKMAID


PROFILE GUESTBOOK OLD OLDER OLDEST
Whew! I lived through another Thanksgiving. I'm Thankful for that too.

Even though I was taking my dear old mother out to dinner, I still needed to prepare an entire Thanksgiving feast - with all the trimmings. It's a *me* thing... Got up at 7 a.m. made cornbread stuffing with thyme. Prepared turkey the way I learned last week on the DIY Network. Butter, orange zest and orange juice, sage and thyme rubbed over the bird (which btw, was only 9 pounds and barely even resembled a turkey) Roasted for one hour at 350 without opening the door, and then, basted every 30 minutes until done. See, I usually stick the bird into one of those cooking bags and hope for the best. This was my first experience with the basting. Fun! I couldn't figure out why the liquid kept disappearing - until I saw it was all inside the cavity of the bird!

Whilst the turkey was roasting, I baked some yams - and a banana! This was for what turned out to be a fabulous yam, banana and pecan casserole I got off Food 911. Oh.My.Gawd.It.Was.Delicious. And I hate yams!

I didn't have time to complete the homemade gravy (from the pan drippings - with added apple cider and cream - again DIY - but I'm going to do it later this evening...

My kidlet spent Thanksgiving with her father (who it seems, is about to obtain his second divorce) and grandfather. I took my mother (who is coughing and sneezing with a terrible headcold) to a cute little restaurant near my home. They served a pretty damn good Thanksgiving dinner - and the place was crawling with old geezers. My mom was in her element - dowager humps, blue hair, walkers and canes strewn all over the place! We chit-chatted, me dodging virus infested dropplets as she hacked and blew. She felt pampered and part of the cool, old-lady crowd. The entire event was actually less painful than I had imagined it would be.

Now I'm home and about to change back into my sweats. I'll fool around with the gravy, and relax a bit. Tomorrow - it's up and out the door for Christmas shopping by 8 a.m.! Woo Hoo!



November 28, 2002

Buh Bye!
October 05, 2008

Be Afraid, People.... Really Afraid
September 01, 2008

One Last Bitchfest for the Road
August 24, 2008

Get the Popcorn Ready
July 17, 2008

I'm a Rich Ho-Bag
June 20, 2008



previous next
Marriage is love.

hosted by DiaryLand.com