DIARY OF AN URBAN MILKMAID


PROFILE GUESTBOOK OLD OLDER OLDEST
Went to the book store this evening. Hit the "History" section full force. U.S. History; Historical Biographies:

Thomas Jefferson - NOT a Christian. John Adams - Unitarian, John Quincy Adams - Unitarian, Benjamin Franklin - Interesting philosopy you could NEVER by today's standards, call Christian. Alexander Hamilton was more or less a Presbyterian, and reminded me a bit of Dubya - since he was of some high 'n mighty lineage, he believed he had already made the cut for heaven. I couldn't find anything on George Washington's theology. I had heard he was a Deist. I still need to research him. James Madison really believed in separation of church and state. He went against Congress during a war, when Congress asked to have an official day of prayer. He only went as far as to suggest the people could pray if they were "so inclined". Congress was pretty pissed off about that.

See, I've taken the challenge regarding my salesmen friends' claims that the US of A was founded on Judeo-Christian values, and that the founding fathers were a bunch of Christians...

As far as I know, this country was founded on reason and logic. Something that Christianity is NOT.

After I do this part, I'm going to research all those cool diaries the founding fathers kept, to see their attitudes about the constitution and all that jazz.

See. I'm proud and grateful that I live in a country where I can go to a book store and look through the volumes of actual information to find the truth. I don't know why today's conservatives prefer to sit in their Barcoloungers and be force fed "truth" by Bill O'Reilly et al...

While at the book store, I picked up a copy of Al Franken's book "Lies and the Lying Liars Who Tell Them", 'cause I'm feeling Saucy!



September 06, 2003

Buh Bye!
October 05, 2008

Be Afraid, People.... Really Afraid
September 01, 2008

One Last Bitchfest for the Road
August 24, 2008

Get the Popcorn Ready
July 17, 2008

I'm a Rich Ho-Bag
June 20, 2008



previous next
Marriage is love.

hosted by DiaryLand.com